PDA

View Full Version : Smoked Turkey Legs

drmarion
08-03-2010, 04:53 PM
Hi
I am new to Smokin Tex. I am a very new smoker. I was wondering if anyone has been able to replicate the wonderful taste of the Fairground Turkey Legs in the Smokin Tex Pro?:)

BillyBob
08-04-2010, 09:26 AM
It's easy...just make sure you get anough smoke in them.

BillyBob

keith13b
08-04-2010, 12:53 PM
I put the full recipe on the Smokin Tex Facebook page. The post is too long to list here:

Brine: 1gal water, 1C salt, 1/2C sugar, 2 Tbsp ea: Chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, fresh ground pepper, sage, cumin - Brine overnight

Rub: 3 Tbsp onion pwr, 2 Tbsp Paprika, 1 Tbsp garlic pwr, 1 Tbs Pepper, 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp sage

Lightly coat the legs with olive oil and add the rub. Let rest for 45 min. Add 3oz pecan or hickory. Cook 5 hours at 225. Good luck!

keith13b
08-04-2010, 12:53 PM
Mods- anyway to remove the 500 character limit on posts?

drmarion
08-05-2010, 08:16 AM
Thank u Keith .
I am still struggling w ribs and this smoker. I did basic rib rub w baby backs 4.5 hours at 225. Very good but not quite buttery soft- any tips?.

TexinOH
08-05-2010, 10:27 AM
Thank u Keith .
I am still struggling w ribs and this smoker. I did basic rib rub w baby backs 4.5 hours at 225. Very good but not quite buttery soft- any tips?.

Not Keith, but try wrapping in foil at 4 hr and put back in ST for another 2 hours. I like mine pulling back from the bones but not falling off. This does the trick for me.

HTH
John

billy b
08-10-2010, 11:01 AM
I put the full recipe on the Smokin Tex Facebook page. The post is too long to list here:

Brine: 1gal water, 1C salt, 1/2C sugar, 2 Tbsp ea: Chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, fresh ground pepper, sage, cumin - Brine overnight

Rub: 3 Tbsp onion pwr, 2 Tbsp Paprika, 1 Tbsp garlic pwr, 1 Tbs Pepper, 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp sage