PDA

View Full Version : Trimmed Brisket Recipe

zkirby77
05-26-2011, 09:50 PM
Hey all,

Kinda new here, just received my 1400 today and am excited to smoke this weekend. My friend was aso excited and purchased a 7 pound brisket for the occassion. Only issue is it's a trimmed brisket, so about 2 inches thick and flat with no fat cap. Does anyone have a recipe or and tips to make this first non-standard brisket a success? I looked through the recipes but didn't see any mention of a trimmed brisket. Thank you in advance.

zkirby77

BillyBob
05-27-2011, 08:57 AM
zkirby...I am no expert on brisket...but you might try the following:

1) Coat the brisket with your choice of oil and apply your fovorit rub.
2) Wrap or put in a plastic bag and refrigerate for 1 or 2 hrs or over night if possible.
3) Set your ST 1400 at your desired temperature 225-250 and put in smoker, add desired amout of wood chuncks.
4) If you have one, and I highly recommend one, insert a remote digital thermometer such as a maverick ET-73/E-732.
5) Cook until internal temp reaches 180F.
6) Pull out of smoker and wrap in a double layer of heavy-duty foil...pour in a cup of beaf broth or beer and seal tight( I also put mine in a foil pan just in case it lesks)
7) Cook to internal of 190-205.
8) Pull wrap in cloth towels and place in a cooler for 1-2hrs to rest.
Good Luck!

BillyBob

zkirby77
05-27-2011, 09:50 AM
One question though. After I place it in foil do I keep cooking in the smoker or place it in the oven? Also do you think I need to start cooking it the night before or will it be cooked enough if I start around 7am and plan to eat at 7 pm. I do have a digital thermometer so will be cooking with it in the meat the entire time. Thanks again for all the help Billybob.

BillyBob
05-27-2011, 03:05 PM
Yes put it back in the smoker...and yes start the night before just to be save...plan on 16-18 plus.
Let me know how it comes out.

BillyBob

zkirby77
06-01-2011, 12:06 AM
Billybob,