PDA

View Full Version : Brisket takes a long time

wg5
10-13-2011, 08:03 PM
I am a rookie at this smoking stuff and hope to get some help from all of you.

I am cooking a 9 lb. brisket and it has been it the 1400 smoker at 200 deg F for 12 hours and the temp of the meat is only 165 deg F. A thermometer inserted into the top hole has registered about 160 deg most of the time when I checked it, although once it was at 200 deg. Is this normal?

I am at 6800 ft elevation, if that matters.

Thanks for your help.

SmokinColo
10-14-2011, 10:17 AM
I'm pretty much a rookie too but I've done a few briskets now and I will say this....You need to let it smoke for a good 14-15 hours at that 200 temp. After you remove it, immediately wrap it up real good in saran wrap and aluminum foil, wrap all that up in a towel and put it in a cooler for another hour. It will maintain a good internal temp in there and will continue to tenderize. I'm at about 5,000 ft elevation.

wg5
10-14-2011, 01:17 PM
Your experience mirrors mine. It got to 195 deg after 15 hours and I turned the temp up to 225 at 13 hours. I was following the directions in the video at the Smokin Tex web site and thought it should have been done at 10 or 11 hours (one hour/pound plus two).

Thanks

applejack
10-15-2011, 05:57 AM
Hello wg5,

I thought your cook time / temperature problem was interesting - especially since your location is at a fairly high altitude. How does elevation affect cooking times? My own cooking experience cooking anything above 1200 feet elevation is limited to cooking over a campfire at 8500 feet on a Colorado mountains camping trip in the mid 1950's. In other words, my experience is almost non-existent. Plus that, time does color one's memories. I do know that trying to cook by boiling at higher elevations takes MUCH longer. The elevation in my area is about 650 feet above sea level.