PDA

View Full Version : First Time Seasoning - How much wood was burned?

Trek-Leo
08-13-2012, 09:41 AM
Hi folks,
I'm a newbie and have a dumb question that I did not find an answer for the the old threads. I did my first time seasoning yesterday. I put in 4 oz of wood that came with the unit, closed the door, and turned the dial up to 215 degree. I got smoke out the vent, and a little smoke around of the door. I did not have a temperature probe inside so I cannot verify the internal smoker temperature. After 4 hours I turned the unit off.

Now the question, when I opened up the smoker after 4 hours of smoking and it cooled down.The wood blocks just looked they had been scorched with a blow torch and there were a couple dime size spots of burned wood 1/4 to 3/8 inches deep and no ash. I was expecting to dump out mainly ashes, but instead I could smoke 40, 50, 60 times with the same two blocks.

Do I have a problem?

SmokeRing
08-13-2012, 01:25 PM
Try putting just a handful of wood chips in the box for a few hours if after that you have ashes you're good to go. If not you have a problem.

applejack
08-13-2012, 06:57 PM
Hello Trek-Leo,

Welcome to the world of SmokinTex users.

A couple of observations: I think the manual states that you should use 8 oz of 'seasoning' wood at the temperature you set the unit at. The purpose for the seasoning is to create a coating on the inside of your smoker and in the process build up a seal coating around the door. All that aside, I think you should have had mostly ash in the wood box.

A tool that is invaluable to have is a dual probe Maverick digital thermometer. Available from SmokinTex. I would be completely lost without mine. This instrument will allow you to KNOW what is going on inside your smoker.

I suggest that you give SmokinTex a call and discuss your experience with them. They WILL help you. It sounds like for whatever reason your unit did not get as hot as the temperature set point.