PDA

View Full Version : Question about smokin Pork Butt

Reedje
02-06-2013, 05:48 PM
Hi,

I am new to Smoking and just bought a 1400. After I seasoned it to the owners manual instructions for 4 hours. Then the next day I tried to make pulled pork using a 5.5 lb pork butt. I followed the directions in the owners manual and seasoned it overnight. The next day I cooked it at 215 for 8 hours. I did not put sauce on it while it was cooking (mop it) because I didn't know if I should open the smoker while it was cooking. When I took the pork butt out it was done and tasted very good. However, it did not pull apart like I expected. Anyone have any idea why? Should I have cooked it longer? At a higher temperature maybe? Should I have placed a little tin of water in the bottom of the smoker to give it more moisture?

Hoping someone replies soon. I am going to try either Baby Back Ribs or Spare Ribs this weekend and don't want them to be dry. Thanks !!!

bigwalleye
02-13-2013, 01:42 PM
What was your internal temp?
Ignore the clock and watch the thermometer. 200 internal is my target to pull, 190 to slice. I like a setting temp of 225, but will go to 240 if I need to reduce the time. I generally run 8-9 pound butts, and it takes about 15 hours. Low and slow is the key. Don't open the door. These smokers do not need water. If you need to hold temp to wait for the rest of the meal to get ready, either turn the temp of the smoker down to 210 or, check for posts on foil-towel-cooler method. I've held a butt for 4 hours already by doing that.

DReeves
02-14-2013, 07:18 AM
Welcome to SmokinTex, Reedje,

BigWalleye nailed it. Follow his suggestions and you will be fine. The only advice I would add is that I look for bone-in pork shoulders, as I find them to be a bit more tender and juicy.

Enjoy!

bigwalleye
02-14-2013, 10:09 AM
Reedje,
How's this for backing each other's play? DReeves is on point re: doing the whole bone in butt.