Thread: Meat Temperature Drops???

Default Meat Temperature Drops???

This is the second time this has happened:

I am smokin a chunk of pig meat. My desired temp is 169*.
    I am using a Maverick probe w/remote receiver.

The temp on the meat steadily rose to 165, then started falling, and is continuing to fall.
    It is now 156*, 45 minutes ago it was 165*

Anyone know what's going one here?

Sounds like the infamous "stall". Probly will stay in that range for a while before accelerating out. Mine have lasted 2-3 hours in the 160-165 range before getting up to 190-200 that I like for brisket and butt. I think it has something to do with moisture in the meat starting to come out and cools it for awhile.

Thanks Ajax! I'm kinda new to the schmokin' thing, only had mine for a few months.
    The infamous "stall" huh?
    Guess I'll get used to it. It did add extra time to the cooking, and I think maybe it dried out the loin a bit. But it was (is) still GOOD!!!!

Thanks again,

Cedar, MN (but still not far enough from the Cities)

Default Stall??

Might depend on what you're cooking. You indicate "pig meat" but that covers a lot of territory.
    Gonna take a few guesses here. You said your target was 169, which seems low for a pork shoulder, so I'm guessing you're cooking a loin. Suggestions that follow are based on that assumption.
    Loins are NOTORIOUSLY lean, so you need to be very careful or they will dry out. I'd recommend pulling it at 163-165, letting it rest 15 minutes and heading to the table. 169 is on the high side for a loin, so I'd expect it to be dry at that temp. There's no fat in it to braek down.
    Remember the meat will continue to cook after you pull it, so a pull at 169 might yield a 173-175 internal after a rest.