Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thanksgiving Turkey Help

Default Thanksgiving Turkey Help

Okay, hot shots, I need some help. I am going to do a couple of 16 lb turkeys (different days) . Brined, injected and rubbed. I have seen widely ranging times and smoker temps on the 1400. I need to pin this down. I have been bragging about ST till my friends roll their eyes. My rep is on the line!

I've done 2 at 225 deg, tasted awesome but didn't love how the skin came out rubbery. This is on account of the low cooking temp, I think. Maybe. I am not a scientist nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. If I was going try again I would set it on KILL and keep an eye on the thermometer for the two birds to get an idea for time. Last time I smoked one I used my Weber kettle with the bottom vents closed and minion method, frankly. Turned out great.

ETA: If I need that much bird I cook multiple 10-12 lbers vs. 1 huge one. IMHO, YMMV, my 2 cents is worth what ya paid for it. Good luck!

My only comment is that 16# is a pretty large bird. You will need to be very watchful that you reach 140 internal temp within the 4 hour food safety time! If you haven't already purchased them, I would consider no larger than 14# max and I would also set at 250 until bird reaches 140.
    That 4 hours starts when you take it out of the fridge. I know I'm not telling you anything you don't know but I always appreciate the reminders myself. There will be more who will share I'm sure. I use some buttered up cheese cloth to help with the skin. Good luck and Be Safe!
    1500CXLD, Amerique, PG1000, Tappecue, Thermopen
    Good Meat deserves a REST!
    It's done when it's done and
    If you're happy with the results, that's ALL that matters

Cedar, MN (but still not far enough from the Cities)