Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Smoked Turkey Legs

Default Smoked Turkey Legs

Hi
    I am new to Smokin Tex. I am a very new smoker. I was wondering if anyone has been able to replicate the wonderful taste of the Fairground Turkey Legs in the Smokin Tex Pro?

Smile

It's easy...just make sure you get anough smoke in them.

BillyBob

I put the full recipe on the Smokin Tex Facebook page. The post is too long to list here:

Brine: 1gal water, 1C salt, 1/2C sugar, 2 Tbsp ea: Chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, fresh ground pepper, sage, cumin - Brine overnight

Rub: 3 Tbsp onion pwr, 2 Tbsp Paprika, 1 Tbsp garlic pwr, 1 Tbs Pepper, 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp sage

Lightly coat the legs with olive oil and add the rub. Let rest for 45 min. Add 3oz pecan or hickory. Cook 5 hours at 225. Good luck!

Mods- anyway to remove the 500 character limit on posts?

Default Turkey leg recipe

Thank u Keith .
    I am still struggling w ribs and this smoker. I did basic rib rub w baby backs 4.5 hours at 225. Very good but not quite buttery soft- any tips?.

Quote Originally Posted by drmarion View Post
    Thank u Keith .
    I am still struggling w ribs and this smoker. I did basic rib rub w baby backs 4.5 hours at 225. Very good but not quite buttery soft- any tips?.
    Not Keith, but try wrapping in foil at 4 hr and put back in ST for another 2 hours. I like mine pulling back from the bones but not falling off. This does the trick for me.

HTH
    John

Quote Originally Posted by keith13b View Post
    I put the full recipe on the Smokin Tex Facebook page. The post is too long to list here:

Brine: 1gal water, 1C salt, 1/2C sugar, 2 Tbsp ea: Chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, fresh ground pepper, sage, cumin - Brine overnight

Rub: 3 Tbsp onion pwr, 2 Tbsp Paprika, 1 Tbsp garlic pwr, 1 Tbs Pepper, 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp sage

Lightly coat the legs with olive oil and add the rub. Let rest for 45 min. Add 3oz pecan or hickory. Cook 5 hours at 225. Good luck!