Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Trimmed Brisket Recipe

Default Trimmed Brisket Recipe

Hey all,

Kinda new here, just received my 1400 today and am excited to smoke this weekend. My friend was aso excited and purchased a 7 pound brisket for the occassion. Only issue is it's a trimmed brisket, so about 2 inches thick and flat with no fat cap. Does anyone have a recipe or and tips to make this first non-standard brisket a success? I looked through the recipes but didn't see any mention of a trimmed brisket. Thank you in advance.

zkirby77

zkirby...I am no expert on brisket...but you might try the following:

1) Coat the brisket with your choice of oil and apply your fovorit rub.
    2) Wrap or put in a plastic bag and refrigerate for 1 or 2 hrs or over night if possible.
    3) Set your ST 1400 at your desired temperature 225-250 and put in smoker, add desired amout of wood chuncks.
    4) If you have one, and I highly recommend one, insert a remote digital thermometer such as a maverick ET-73/E-732.
    5) Cook until internal temp reaches 180F.
    6) Pull out of smoker and wrap in a double layer of heavy-duty foil...pour in a cup of beaf broth or beer and seal tight( I also put mine in a foil pan just in case it lesks)
    7) Cook to internal of 190-205.
    8) Pull wrap in cloth towels and place in a cooler for 1-2hrs to rest.
    Good Luck!

BillyBob
    "IT'S 5 O'CLOCK SOMEWHERE"

Default I'll go with this recipe

One question though. After I place it in foil do I keep cooking in the smoker or place it in the oven? Also do you think I need to start cooking it the night before or will it be cooked enough if I start around 7am and plan to eat at 7 pm. I do have a digital thermometer so will be cooking with it in the meat the entire time. Thanks again for all the help Billybob.

Yes put it back in the smoker...and yes start the night before just to be save...plan on 16-18 plus.
    Let me know how it comes out.

BillyBob

Billybob,